Report of the Board's Delegate to Cooperative Educational Service Agency #1 (CESA #1)

June 26, 2018

Submitted by Director Terry Falk

CESA #1 BOARD OF CONTROL MEETING TUESDAY, JUNE 19, 2018

Al Zietlow, member of the CESA #1 board and longtime member of Arrowhead school board recently died from cancer. Those of you who have served on the WASB policy committee would remember Al with his colorful bowties, wit, always having something to say.

This was the second meeting of the new board. I do not know who the replacement is for Al on the board. Other board members are:

- Mike Weidner, Fox Point-Bayside
- Janet Evans, Franklin
- Lester Spies, Germantown
- Tom Frohna, Greenfield
- Gabe Kolesart, Hamilton
- Terrence Falk, Milwaukee
- Libby Gutterman, Nicolet
- Chris Finch, St. Francis
- Sharon Muehlfeld, Wauwatosa
- Dan Bailey, West Allis-West Milwaukee

Terry Falk was selected as the CESA #1 delegate to the WASB delegate assembly. Every school district gets one delegate and every member of the WASB board is also a voting member. So MPS gets two votes. One might consider my vote as a third; however, I have to consider that I must also consider the interests of all the school districts in CESA #1, not just MPS.

Each year CESA #1 gives a \$1000 scholarship, the Begum Believe and Succeed Award, to a graduating high school student who has turned his/her life around. This year the award goes to Elizabeth Balsiger of Ozaukee Community HS.

A number of CESA workshops are coming up this summer and fall. Rather than listing them all, I suggest that you look at the CESA #1 website.

One important workshop to highlight is "Trauma Sensitive Schools: Train the Trainer Model," August 14th. This will be followed up with "Creating A Trauma Sensitive School, 2018-19 Series November 12, January 8, and February 7. More information at the CESA #1 website. Our students face a lot of trauma in their lives and every school needs to do everything they can to support these students.

* * * * *